When you need to "(almost) pretend it never happened", you can undo the manufacturing; the manufactured product is moved out of your inventory and its raw products are moved back into your inventory.
(Config C) Undoing a Completed manufacturing removes it; it does not revert back to Pending status.
Related Topics:
In order to Undo Manufacturing:
the manufacturing date must be in an open period
it must involve only active products
it must have been manufactured in an active location
When you undo a manufactured product agrē automatically makes various updates, which may include GL postings, cost history table amendments for inventory items, and inventory balance adjustments. Any changes to estimated unit costs are also undone. The updates that occur depend on the type of manufactured product being undone.
If you need to shuffle costs after the undo, use the Cost Reallocation Tool.
Use the Undo Manufacturing button to undo manufactured products.
Caution
If you are undoing the manufacture of a product with a Lot Number, the quantity of the manufactured product will be updated with the Undo, but the status of the Lot# will not change.
For example, if the only activity for a Lot# was the manufacturing, and the manufacturing was subsequently undone, the Lot# would still exist but it would have no activity.
Navigate to Inventory > Manufacture Product.
The Manufacture Product window opens.
Select the manufacturing you'd like to undo.
The Confirm Undo Manufacturing? window opens.
Click Yes to undo the manufacturing.
The Confirm Undo Manufacturing? window closes.
Inventory counts are updated to reflect the manufactured product that is now undone.
Tip
The Undone Manufacturing data export provides details of all manufacturing that has been undone.